What Happened to the Good Ol’ Days?

While channel surfing tonight around 9:30 I happened to come upon the USA Network. It was at this time I found that WWF wrestling was on….err excuse me WWE. I decided to watch what was the rest of the program, untill 11:oo. Is it just me or has wrestling turned into a HUGE soap opera that dosen’t really have any direction? I mean the “main event” for the night was for former wrestler Marty Genetti to get into the ring and kiss Vince McMahon’s ass. Umm..alright…what a fine premise for the show to take. Sure it has come a long way to have all these women wrestlers wearing practically and close to 50+ year old men fighting each other, but I had to stop and ask myself..what happened to the good old days of wrestling..where it was actually interesting to watch? You know, the good ol’ days of Hulk Hogan, Ultimate Warrior, Rowdy Roddy Piper, Brett the Hitman Hart, Hacksaw Jim Duggan, etc. Those guys were up for putting on a real performance to the fullest. Now all it seems as if it’s transformed into a big circus, without any sense of direction. Sure, the older stuff may seem a bit cheesy to us now, but can we really say these episodes are better? I’m not sure, but I do know one thing: the world of professional wrestling has come a long way, but unfortunately it seems like its going in a downward spiral.

I leave you with this website…just to get back in the swing of how things used to be…

http://www.planetvids.com/html/Hulk-Hogan-the-Real-American.html#myspace

~ by prudz on February 28, 2006.

2 Responses to “What Happened to the Good Ol’ Days?”

  1. I’ve been saying that for the looooongest time. Maybe I was too young to notice, but the wrestling even looks less real than ever. The air punches don’t even come close. Oh, and Hulk Hogan IS still wrestling I believe. Along with long time rival/partner Sting (the guy with the bat). I’m glad I dropped that habit before it devolved to what it is now.

  2. wrestling still the same it hasnt changed in 20 years except for the female wrestlers been watching it for 38 years now wanna see some good wrestling rent some video tapes from the 60s and the 70s now thats some old fashion bad-ass wrestling

Leave a Reply

 
