Video Games: Where Is The Line Drawn

Super Mario. Link. Samus Aran. Gary Coleman. Fox McCloud. Cloud Strife.   Can you tell which one of these names dosen't belong? If you're an avid gamer, the answer is easy. But if not, then it might be a bit more puzzling. (Gary Coleman by the way, as if it wern't obvious.) 

Ok, you might say, p.rudz….where are you going with this, you seem to be rambling and have no end in sight. But wait! There is a method to my madness. I come to raise an issue about video games, and no it's not the violence they contain. Sorry to get all you parents hopes up of trying to bring down the video game industry, not my style ;p  Anyway, the issue I want to bring up is, are kids today, or anyone growing up in the age of gaming consoles and computers, spending too much time playing these games?

I know for a fact myself, being a decent gamer, that where I'm bored and find nothing else to do…I usually pop in a video game and start giving my fingers a workout. I don't consider myself overly obsessed or anything, but I can state that I do play a good amount of hours, espically if I have just purchased a new game. I have come to find though that there are some people that just constantly sit in front of the computer or tv screen and play. These can ultimately lead to a lack of motivation to do any other activity. For example, people would more likely want to play a game of Madden football on their console, rather than get a bunch of friends together and play an actual game.

I know, for I am guilty of this.

Now don't get me wrong, I do have a social life. I have a job, have a DJ spot at my college radio station, and belong to a few clubs, but between studying time and classes, I find myself either online chatting or playing games more and more.

It's come to the point where I feel I should take some action. It's time to go out and do more things such as maybe walks or exercise and a bit less of gaming.

heh, sorry guys. this was kinda like a rant and a finding all in one…it may seem awkward to read, but I know what I'm trying to say. So I guess I'll just sum it up like this…I live in an age where I grew up with video games, and I'll probably play them for as long as I can..assuming they're interesting..but I will have to learn to tone down my playing time and get more active in my social life.   Once again I apologize for my rant, cause now it seems even confusing to me so….

P.rudz…out 

~ by prudz on April 16, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
