Where’d the good kids shows go?

Alright, I've been on this wonderful planet for 19 years now and when I was growing up I can remember some of the television shows I used to watch. Sesame Street, Eureka's Castle, Shining Time Station, Garfield and Friends, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Super Mario Brothers, Power Rangers, Clarissa Explains it All, Adventures of Pete and Pete, Double Dare, Legends of the Hidden Temple, Rocko's Modern Life, Angry Beavers, Ren and Stimpy, Hey Dude, Salute Your Shorts. Alright, these were just some of the good shows that offered humor and learning in their own…special ways. 

I mean besides Sesame Street, most of them have bit the dust. Others have made attempts to come back into some kind of glory like Double Dare, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, but they can't compare to their older counterparts.

I turn and flip through the cartoons in the morning and I see nothing that would seem remotely close to any of those shows. I see such shows as The Wiggles, Dora The Explorer, Fairly Oddparents, Spongebob Squarepants, Jimmy Neutron, Little Bill. Honestly those are the only ones I can even think of a name for, the others are just so bad that I can't even come close to remembering a name. I must say though, I can sit and watch spongebob, but the others…I don't know. There was this one show with three different uhh colored people, one all green, one all umm yellow, and one all green I believe. And they loved to play music. I must say, some of the most mind numbing stuff I've seen in a while…besides those stupid Suite Life of Zack and Cody or That's So Maven…or whatever.

My plea is this, what happened to all the good shows? Why do they constantly pull the ones that seem to have good potential. I can understand pulling some that have had a long running, but even that is not a good excuse. Take Invader Zim for example, that had the potential to be a great show on Nick. But only after some episodes, it was yanked from their lineup. I urge the broadcasting networks…STOP PULLING THE GOOD SHOWS AND LEAVING US WITH CRAP. I'm not interested in these newer shows…that even little kids could lose their attention after about 10 minutes.

p.rudz out. 

~ by prudz on April 28, 2006.

One Response to “Where’d the good kids shows go?”

  1. The problem is that the new parents of today don’t want to have take care of their own kids. They’d rather let the TV Networks take responsibility for raising them. And so they apply such a strict rating to the new shows, things like Rocko’s Modern Life and Ren & Stimpy just don’t make the cut. That’s why I turn to [adult swim]. It’s the only programming block I can even stomach to watch without gouging my own eyes out. I know you’re not a big fan of it, but in some ways, I think many of those shows outshine even the classics (yes, even better than Rocko’s Modern Life). What I do miss, and have yet to find an alternative for, are all those live action shows you mentioned. Nothing, and I mean nothing, can take the place of Pete and Pete, Clarissa, or Salute Your Shorts. In fact, my only fix has been Saved by the Bell repeats on the aforementioned [as].

Leave a Reply

 
