Take Me Out To The Ball Game

Ok, I know I haven’t posted anything in a while. Too busy with finals and such. But anyway I’M BACK… Ok, so when I was back home like three weeks ago from Bloomsburg, I had learned that my next door neighbor was going to coach his son’s tee ball team. Now…being the nice neighbor I am, I volunteered to help.

Today was one of their games. Now, I’ve never played actual organized tee ball in my life. I’ve played in “B-Ball” with a pitching machine and in “A-Ball” like regular baseball. So in essence it was my first tee ball game as well.

There are basic elements to tee ball that I had no idea of. Like everyone on the team gets to bat in their inning. They only go one base once they do hit it. And when the last batter hits, everyone thats on the bases gets to run home. In a way I can understand it, since they are only like 4-5 years old. My surprize came when I noticed that little kids of that age…don’t have a real attention span. After the first “inning” they were all running around the field and not really paying attention to the game. Let me tell you, you got quite a bit of work to do to make sure they are paying attention, keep them interested, and remind them to run when the next batter hits the ball.

Tiring as it is, I can’t help but feel good for doing it. Despite them all wanting to run and get the ball, most of them are funny to watch and try to talk to. It has sparked my interest to get out with a few friends and have some “home run derbys.” Of course with metal bats and tennis balls. The only real trick is to get my friends away from their video games…. a.k.a. World of Warcraft. That could be the toughest things I’ve had to do yet.

Until that happens, this is prudz. over and out.

~ by prudz on May 13, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
