Holophonic Haircut and then some!

Alrighty, hey there guys, it’s good ol’ Prudz coming at you with a new blog post. It’s not..get this… not a dream post this time. No, I’m posting something that I’ve found on the internet while using my Stumble Upon Button in my Firefox browser. On a side note, I must say I love that little toolbar on my Firefox window. It takes me to these cool websites that I would never have even thought of searching for before. You can customize what type of websites it will bring up and then once that is setup, you can “stumble” for hours on end getting cool and interesting websites to browse.

Anyway I came across this website that started talking about Holophonic sound. For those of you that don’t know what that is, Holophonic sound is a form of sound recording where they setup a dummy head and place microphones where your ears would be. They then go about their recording and then pass it along to you. By using this technique, when one listens to the sound file while wearing a pair of headphones, it creates the illusion of the sound actually being around you on either your left or right sound.

Your brain does all the works in determining where the sounds should be referencing the audio clip. I guess it would probably just be better if you just listen for yourself and find out what I’m talking about. I’ll list three examples of this technology and let you decide for yourself if it’s as cool as I say it is.

NOTE: YOU NEED A PAIR OF HEADPHONES ON FOR THESE LINKS TO WORK. THEY WILL NOT WORK ON REGULAR COMPUTER SPEAKERS!!

We’ll start off simple with this recording…

Then we step it up with a courtyard scene

And finally we get to the best one out so far in my mind… the Virtual Haircut!

It’s the first one in the list!

Just close your eyes and relax when listening to these, pretend that what you hear is actually happening around you!

Ok, get to it, I know I will be. Prudz….over and out~~!!

~ by prudz on May 31, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
