An Ode to Nintendo

Hey there all, Prudz coming back at you with a small post to get something off my mind. Let me first start off by saying that I am a proud owner of a Nintendo Wii gaming system. I’ve had this system for a little over a year now and to say the least I am very pleased with that I have.

That being said, about two weeks ago I pop in my copy of Guitar Hero 3 to start rocking out, when upon entering the disk my Wii starts making this horrible loud buzzing noise
(similar to this).

It got so loud that I had to have my tv blasting its sound in order for me to enjoy the game. I gave a quick call to Nintendo to see if they could help my situation. Upon calling the first time, the gentleman on the phone took my Wii’s serial number and looked it up in the system. It turned out that my Wii was no longer under warranty since I’ve had it for over a year. He then tells me to go to the Nintendo website, register my Wii and it will add 3 months onto my warranty, which will then give me no cost to ship my Wii back for repairs. I hang up and proceed to set up an account and  then call back to get another customer service rep.

While on the phone with her, their system states my Wii is now once again under warranty and they’ll pay the shipping costs. They send me the shipping label through email so I can print it up and then drop the package off at a local FedEx. At this point i was pretty much devistated that I would be without my Wii for an extended period of time. I was thinking I wouldn’t be playing it for at least 2-3 weeks, minimum. I drop my package off on Feb. 13th and off it went to the New York Nintendo Building. I then received an email from Nintendo on the 17th saying that they received the Wii and would have it shipped back to me bewteen 9 and 11 business days.

That’s great! It will take less time than I thought. The next day while checking my email while coming home from work, I yet again have an email from Nintendo saying they have fixed the problem and are shipping it back out. No later than an hour later the UPS delivery guy comes up to my door with my Wii. I was astonished that they took care of everything in less than a weeks time. That is by far one of the best customer service from a business I’ve encountered so far. They made my problem their problem and gave me no hassles at all. To celebrate I went out and picked up “No More Heroes” until my craving for Super Smash Brothers: Brawl, is subsided on March 10th.

I guess the whole point of this article is to bring attention to the awesome customer service and just the great quality of work the Nintendo corporation has for it’s customers. Thanks Nintendo for your hard work! Me and my Wii appreciate it! Rock ON!

~Prudz

~ by prudz on February 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
