I Hate Customers

Today at my wonderful job, Weis Markets – a.k.a. Hell Hole, I encountered two different people that I literately wanted to punch in the face. Now, seeing as I work primarily at the customer service desk, this would be not a good thing for me to do. Let me just relay the two scenarios.

Scenario 1: Policy Abuser.

As a little background, Weis has this policy where if an item rings up at a different price than the shelf price, you get the item for free. If you have more than one of that item, the first one is free and all others are given at the sale price. A customer comes up to me, with receipt and product in hand. The product was a prepackaged 4 pack of organic tomatoes from our produce section.

“Yeah, these rang up wrong. The sign over there says they’re supposed to be 10 for $10.00. They’re ringing up $4.29”

I kinda look at her funny because I know ORGANIC tomatoes would not be ringing up at 1.00 a package. I page over an associate from produce, because like a good employee I want to check. The produce associate comes back with a message that the item that was on sale for 1.00 was salad dressing BELOW the tomatoes, but the tomatoes should be 2.99. He then walks away back to the produce section. Before I could go into my normal dialogue about our policy, the customer then getting smart with me and says,

“They’re supposed to be on sale for $2.99? Then actually I should get this for free. According to your policy if it rings up wrong I get it for free. If I don’t get it I’ll…”

At this point, I snap at her plain rudeness towards me. I cut her off mid sentence by saying,

“Hey! CALM…DOWN… I’ve been with this company for over five years, I know what the policy is. If you don’t tell me how to do my job, you’ll get your refund.”

Needless to say, she hushed up pretty quick and was on her way after she received her money.

Scenario 2: Old Soup Nazi

We have this particular customer that nobody particularly likes. She is old, hard of hearing, crabby, uncooperative, and yells for no good reason. She’s so bad, the local taxi service refuses to pick her up anymore because of what a hassle she is. It’s with my luck she decides to come to courtesy with her two items to get checked out: a roma tomato and a can of Progresso soup.

Me: Hi. Just these two items today?
OSN: THOSE TOMATOES ARE 1.99 A POUND.
Me: Ok… ::rings in both items::
OSN: DID THEY COME UP AT 1.99 A POUND?
Me: Umm ::looks at recepit:: yes, they did. Your total comes to $2.89.

She doesn’t seem to have a problem with this and gets three one dollar bills out and hands them to me. I hand her back her .11 cents change and her receipt. She turns as if she is going to leave and the next guy in line is about to step forward. She then turns around back to me and starts again.

OSN: HOW MUCH WAS THAT CAN OF SOUP?
Me: Um, $2.29.
OSN: WHAT! I THOUGHT IT WAS ON SALE!
Me: It is on sale, Buy one get one free.
OSN: I DON’T WANT IT! I THOUGHT IT WAS ON SALE!
Me: It is on sale. Buy one, get one free. You can go and grab another one if you want and I’ll toss it in the bag for you.
OSN: I DON’T WANT ANOTHER ONE. WHAT AM I GOING TO DO WITH IT. I THOUGHT IT WAS ON SALE!

At this point the guy behind her tries to help my cause.

Guy: It is on sale Buy one, Get one free. You can get another one for free.
OSN: I DON’T WANT ANOTHER ONE! WHAT AM I GOING TO DO WITH TWO CANS OF SOUP?!
Me: Um…eat them?
OSN: TAKE IT BACK! I CAN MAKE A WHOLE POT OF SOUP FOR A CHEAPER PRICE.
Me: Umm, probably not…but ok.

I then refunded her the money and she left still mumbling. It felt good that right afterwards the guy said that she was a crazy old lady. Haha.

Only in my town do I get people like this I swear. Any work horror stories you wanna share? Leave a comment!

~Prudz

~ by prudz on February 26, 2008.

One Response to “I Hate Customers”

  1. No, man. Angry people are every where.

Leave a Reply

 
