Movie Review: Drillbit Taylor

Hey there everybody, Prudz coming to you after a short break in my blog updating. I haven’t been blogging as much recently because I’ve been swamped with schoolwork as I’m getting close to the end of the semester. With research papers, tests, speeches, and chapter summaries to write up, I’ve been just a tad bit busy. I’ll be done in less than two weeks time and expect to be writing as often as I did before. I’m going to be starting a new section here on Minute Details, my own reviews! Whether it be on products, games, or movies, it’s something to express my product experience with you guys! Anyway, on with the review of Drillbit Taylor.

I went to see this movie during a week when nothing else was really good in the theaters. I went with a friend and we were feeling a comedy. At first I was a bit hesitant because I know that some Owen Wilson movies can be hit or miss, see Shanghai Knights, or Starsky & Hutch.

The story revolves around two younger kids that are just entering their high school careers. Everything seems to be going fine until they start getting picked on by some bullies at school. It is then that they hire Drillbit Taylor (Wilson) who they think is a real bodyguard, but is actually a bum, to protect them from said bullies. With me so far? Not exactly the most believable premise, but let’s go with it for the sake of comedy.

It was written by Kristofer Brown and Seth Rogen, but is given a PG-13 rating because it seems like it is more of a family film. I’m not sure if I am used to their form from Superbad or Knocked Up, but I didn’t really think that I was going to get a lot of quality with a lower movie rating. I was actually surprised at the number of laughs I got from this film. Most don’t even come from Wilson at all, but from the young kids in the movie. The two younger stars, Nate Hartley and Troy Gentile, actually do well in their first theater performance and held their own for most of the movie. The whole movie progresses somewhat smoothly until the end fight scene where Wilson’s character loses a Pinky, but other than that I had no real major qualms with the movie.

All in all, it’s not a big blockbuster like some of Wilson’s other movies: i.e. Wedding Crashers, but it’s a fun movie to watch none the less. Wait for this one to come out on DVD to rent if you’re bored one night, it’s nothing that needs to be added to your movie collection urgently.

Final Score: 3/5

~Prudz.

~ by prudz on April 29, 2008.

One Response to “Movie Review: Drillbit Taylor”

  1. Its comedy falls flat, and the film has a violent core where its heart should be. And that’s where the problem within this film lies, although Wilson does somewhat charm. Nice Review, check out mine when you can!!

Leave a Reply

 
